How To Watch The Conjuring Universe?

How To Watch The Conjuring Universe?
Image Credits: Pinterest

Instead of stand-alone movies, joint universes seem to be on-trend these days. Be it Marvel Cinematic Universe, where universes clash with each other, or DC Extended Universe; franchises are taking over. The same is the case for the Conjuring Universe.

Primarily based on the Warrens — Ed and Lorraine’s cases, there are eight movies to date. The Universe is the second highest-grossing horror franchise to date, with over $1.9 billion total worldwide box office. And this is the amount with no calculation of the eighth movie—Conjuring 3: The Devil Made Me Do It. With the hyper and popularity this movie got, it won’t be a surprise if the Universe grosses above the $2-billion mark at the box office. 

Out of the eight movies, The Universe started with The Conjuring in 2013. The Conjuring includes two more Conjuring movies — The Conjuring 2 (2016) and The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021). There are three movies related to a haunted doll named Annabelle. They are Annabelle (2014), Annabelle: Creation (2017), Annabelle Comes Home (2019). A prequel to the first two Conjuring movies, The Nun, released in 2017. And last, the only stand-alone, The Curse of La Llorona, was released in 2019. 

To watch the movies for their release might be confusing. To solve this issue, here we have listed the films in the Conjuring Universe in chronological order, as per the actual years it set them in. 

The Nun

Year —  1952

They set the movie at a monastery in Romania where a local finds the body of a nun. This event causes Father Burke and a young nun named Irene to investigate. However, once they reach Romania, the duo has to fight a demon named Valak to save the monastery. 

Annabelle: Creation

Year —  1955

This movie explores how a demonic entity possessed a doll. The film revolves around Janice, a polio-stricken girl who lives in a dollmaker’s house and his wife with other orphans and a nun. They instructed the orphans not to enter a particular room; however, Janice enters it and releases the evil entity. 

The Conjuring 

Year —  1971

The movie revolves around a family who recently moved into a farmhouse in Harrisville, Rhode Island. A sinister force is plotting against the family, throwing them outside the house with murder in their mind. 

Annabelle Comes Home

Year —  1972

This third installment of the Annabelle series is about Ed and Lorraine Warren’s daughter Judy. Judy left home alone with a babysitter when the haunted entities in her parents’ house museum torment them. The most demonic one, Annabelle, will do anything to get outside her glass cage out of those entities. 

The Curse of La Llorona 

Year —  1973 

It is based on The Curse of La Llorona on a Mexican Urban legend about a vengeful spirit who kills children. The film follows a widowed social worker who lives with her two children. As someone whose job is to help children get away from traumatized situations, she must now save her children from getting traumatized or, worse, killed. The culprit is none other than La Llorona, who is hellbent on stealing the souls of children. 

The Conjuring 2

Year —  1977,

They base the movie on the controversial case of Enfield poltergeist of London. The plot revolves around the Hodgson family, tormented by the ghost of the former tenant, Bill Wilkins. Children are being targeted and attack. But is it Bill who is doing this? Or someone more sinister and demonic?

The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It

Year —  1981,

Recently added to the universe, The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It follows the real-life murder trial of Arne Cheyenne Johnson., who brutally stabbed a man to death. He and the Warrens claim to be possessed, and the devil made him do it. However, to defend Arne in court, proof is needed, therefore, it is up to Ed and Lorraine Warren to get the evidence that it possessed him and defeat the evil set to get Arne. 

Also Read: This Year, Binge-Watch These Four Korean-Thriller Movies