A Beginner’s Guide to Zodiac Signs

zodiac signs

The history of zodiac signs can be traced back to Babylonian culture and astrology, and it was later mentioned in Hellenistic Culture.

There are 12 zodiac signs. Each one belongs to one of four elements -Air, Fire, Water, Earth. According to the position of the sun, the planets and the movement of the moon, astrology analyzes a person’s characteristics. What astrologists believe is that the movement of the stars can relate to human activity.

Every one of us belongs to a zodiac sign that is determined from the date of birth. The time of birth and the birthplace determine also the horoscope.

The four elements

Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces are the water sign. They are considered emotional and passionate. They can be covered in mystery and have the ability of intimacy.

Fire signs: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. They are dynamic, they can easily get angry, have immense energy and are very strong. People who belong to those signs are also extremely intelligent.

Earth signs: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn are “team earth”. Logical and practical, they are practical and can be really loyal friends.

Air signs: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are air signs. They are social, they have good communication abilities and can start lengthy conversations about a series of themes.

How to find your zodiac sign

Below you can find your sign (if you don’t already know it) by using just the date of birth.

Aries – March 21 to April 19

Taurus – April 20 – May 20

Gemini – May 21 – June 21

Cancer – June 21 – July 22

Leo – July 23 -August 22

Virgo – August 23 – September 22

Libra – September 23 – October 22

Scorpio – October 23 – November 21

Sagittarius – November 22 – December 21

Capricorn – December 22 – January 19

Aquarius – January 20 – February 18

Pisces – February 19- March 20

Traits and compatibility

By finding his/her zodiac sign, can someone find love? Well, astrologists seem to think so, since signs seem to show compatibility between two people. So, Aries may be compatible with Aquarius but is it with Scorpio, for example?

Stubborn and ambitious, Aries is not afraid to express an opinion and dive into unknown situations. The sign is most compatible with Aquarius, Sagittarius, Leo, and Gemini.

With all feet firmly on earth, Taurus is the voice of logic. People under this sign love the good life, relaxing in wonderful environments but they can be headstrong. Taurus gets along with Virgo and Pisces.

Geminis are communicational and fun to be around. They are always pursuing new things, trying new experiences. However, sometimes they can show two different signs. Geminis appeal to Aquarius and Libra.

Cancers are intuitive and sensitive. Like the crab, which represents the sign, moves between sea and shore, Cancers can deal both with realistic situations, as well as emotional ones. The sign is compatible with Scorpio and Pisces.

Leo is the king. And like the animal, Leos shine and they love to be on the spotlight. They are passionate and can never go unnoticed. Leos demand from their partners the same lust for life that they have. So, it comes as no surprise that they are compatible with Sagittarius, Libra, Gemini, and Aries.

Virgo is practical and a perfectionist. The zodiac sign likes to tidy things up and they get along well with other Earth signs, like Taurus and Capricorn.

Libra is represented by the scales, which shows the need the sign has for balance and harmony. Libras need to calculate things in order to achieve symmetry in their lives. Libra is compatible with Leo and Sagittarius, but Libras can also find love in another Libra.

Scorpio gains its power from the emotional world. They are passionate, sometimes self-destructive, but have a great belief in love and marriage. Because of these values, they are compatible with other Scorpios and with Pisces.

A Sagittarius loves a good adventure. The sign loves traveling and learning and needs to be with people that keep him on his toes (like Leo, Aries, Aquarius, and Libra).

Capricorns are realistic, ambitious and persistent and love a good and lasting relationship. They can find that in a Pisces, Scorpio, Virgo, and Taurus.

Aquarius is humanitarian and pioneers. They enjoy their independence and need to be with someone who can understand that. Because of that reason, Geminis and Libras are perfect partners.

Pisces are kind, compassionate, and imaginative. It needs to be with other water signs, like Scorpio and Cancer, who understand the division between the emotional and realist worlds.